Intimacy with God is the Key

How many times have you felt as you were accomplishing great things for the kingdom of God, but you still found yourself with a sense of restlessness; stuck in the rut of “I don’t know where to go from here.”  As a believer in Christ there should always be a longing to do more and to be for more God. When you are prayed up and full of the Holy Ghost your spirit longs to please the King of glory.

We have all been in that position where we pray, we fast, we go to church, we live a set apart lifestyle, but still feel as if something is missing or not quite right. We have a small tugging that says I know that there is more. If you would allow me to speak freely for a moment I’d like you to follow my thought process that may somewhat challenge your walk with God as you know it. This may not be for everyone, and everyone may not accept it but here we go.

1 closer to God  Matthew 5:6 says, “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.” As believers we hunger and thirst for the things of God and He is so gracious to give us all the desires of our heart to serve Him to, to be ministers in His kingdom, to be preachers of the Word, and teacher as well. However, living a life full of ministry and feeling an antsy feeling, a feeling of there has to me more for me to do…Is one of the worst feelings you can have as a man or woman of God. You feel lost in a world of doing Gods work and for some reason you still feel restless and unfulfilled. I propose that “He is calling, Jesus is calling” that small nudge that says I need to do more, I need to feel more fulfilled is God stirring up your spirit and he is saying its my turn for your attention…Your FULL attention. You see we give our full attention to the people we teach bible studies to, we give our full attention to soul winning and we even giving our full attention to studying the Word of God to prepare for a message to be delivered at a venue. That is all good, and what we should be doing. What God desires uninterrupted one on one intimacy in prayer and so do you…

Please understand, I am not implying that anyone who is reading this article does not have a prayer life, I am simply saying for you to think on your time with God. Is it electronic free, distraction free, children free, chore-free, request free and time restraint free? As believers we need to find a prayer closet time that meets all those requirements, if that means you get up at 5 am or find time at midnight like Paul and Silas. That longing feeling needs to be filled with the sweet presence of the almighty God in an intimate loving way.

Psalms 63 1-8

O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is; To see thy power and thy glory, so as I have seen thee in the sanctuary. Because thy lovingkindness is better than life, my lips shall praise thee. Thus will I bless thee while I live: I will lift up my hands in thy name. My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness; and my mouth shall praise thee with joyful lips:  When I remember thee upon my bed, and meditate on thee in the night watches. Because thou hast been my help, therefore in the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice.  My soul followeth hard after thee: thy right hand upholdeth me.

1 2 Prayer

As  you begin to build up more focused time in prayer and you continue to develop that ongoing intimate relationship with God, you will begin to not only have a sense of fulfillment you will also have an abundance of overflowing joy that will change any atmosphere in any place that you walk into. Intimacy is the key to complete fulfillment, motivation and great success in life.

Isaiah 26:9 At night my soul longs for You, Indeed, my spirit within me seeks You diligently; For when the earth experiences Your judgments The inhabitants of the world learn righteousness.

A lot of time as adults we write off not being able to sleep at night as insomnia or we have so much on our minds that need to be taken care of the following day.  I challenge that thought…In the midst of our ministry filled, job filled, child raising filled life, could it be possible that God is saying you have some free time, can we talk, can we share, can we have some one on one time, lets build up that intimate relationship we had from when we first met and you first fell in love with me. Your relationship should never be out of obligation or habit, your relationship should spring up because of unadulterated love and that will turn into intimacy with God.

In Cynthia Heald’s book “Intimacy with God,” she makes a profound statement regarding the human longing for intimacy, she states:

There is a restlessness deep within each of us that compels us to search for the person, the place, the job, the “god” that will fill the void and give us peace. This restlessness drives us to find someone who will love us for who we are, understand our fears and anxieties, affirm our worth, and call our lives into account. To admit our need for dependence upon God requires humility and vulnerability, which paves the way not only for knowing God, but also for becoming intimate with Him.

There is also a profound statement from J. Oswald Sanders that sit on my heart and mind,“deepening intimacy with God is the outcome of deep desire.”

So those desires and that restlessness we have deep within us, tugging at us and pushing us in a direction that we are not quite sure of what we need to do “more” of could  possibly be God making us uneasy so we can seek Him on a more intimate level..Remember, Intimacy with God is the key!

I end with a scripture

Hear my cry, O God;
Give heed to my prayer.
From the end of the earth
I call to Thee, when my heart is faint;
Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.
For Thou hast been a refuge for me,
A tower of strength against the enemy.
Let me dwell in Thy tent forever;
Let me take refuge in the shelter of Thy wings
PSALM 61:1-4

About Sister Barlow

Hello I am Sister Candice Barlow, I am a 30 year old wife of a amazing man. Pastor Rodney Barlow. He is the Pastor of The Lighthouse Church in Independence, Mo. God has brought us here to this city for Such a Time As This! We have two wonderful boys that have a love for adventure and a passion for life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

